A Brief History of Brighton
Brighton was recorded as a tiny fishing village named Brithelmeston in the Domesday Book and has a relatively quiet and un noticed history until the eighteenth century, when sea-bathing gathered in popularity and it became established as a sea side resort. Development of the Georgian terraces had started and the town began to enjoy steady growth. Royal approval was granted in the 1780’s after the Prince of Wales (the future George IV) began to visit the town with his mistress, giving way to the “dirty weekend” reputation that later took hold. The fun-loving Prince converted a conventional farmhouse in 1787 and turned it into something more suitable of his royal status. Later employing London architect John Nash to build the extraordinary series of minarets, pagodas, swirling domes and balconies that we can see today. Queen Victoria however was not amused and removed many of the valuable carving and fittings, taking them to her London Palace.
The opening of the London and Brighton railway line in 1841 meant that the town was in easy reach of day trippers from London and the population of the town increased steadily. The Victorian era saw the building of many land marks such as the West Pier and the Palace Pier and the Grand Hotel.
The town continued to grow steadily and in 1997 Brighton and Hove were joined to form the unitary authority of ‘Brighton and Hove’. Although even locals sometimes are not sure where the boundary is between the two, they do have their own unique characters, Brighton being vibrant, and Hove more reserved. City status was granted by Queen Elizabeth II in 2000 as part of the millennium celebrations.